Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Wistful Butterflly Lady

Greetings to all the Lost Coasters checking out the Review!  It's Laurie here with another project to share with you.  This one was made for the Lost Coast August Challenge - Stenciled Background.  I really never got into stencils until about a year or so ago, and now I wonder what took me so long!  So many things you can do with stencils - the sky's the limit!

I created this card with the Head In Hands stamp from Lost Coast Designs.  I love this stamp - it has a very peaceful, gentle feel about it that really appeals to me.


I stamped with dark brown ink on white paper then tore around all the edges to give it a rough appearance.  That got mounted onto another torn edges piece in white.  I colored the lady and the butterfly with Copic markers, just keeping the composition and color palette simple.

The background was made with my Gelli plate.  I started with yellow paint for my background then used some stencils with orange and brown paints.   I used three or four different stencils here to give the background some interesting shapes and colors.  Looking at her in this piece, it almost seems that she is looking right into my eyes!!

Don't forget to join up your stenciled stamped creations to the 
Lost Coast Portal to Creativity.  
You don't need to use Lost Coast Designs or Carmen's Veranda stamps, 
but of course, we would love to see them if you have them!!


Go create and have fun!

Sunday, August 13, 2017

4x4 Steampunk Tile

Hello all. Cathy here with a 4x4 Steampunk Art Tile.
So I went and grabbed 1 of my 4x4 Art tiles. I felt like using my Distress Oxide inks. I thought what colors have I not played with? Brown. So I grabbed the browns. Walnut stain, vintage photo and antique linen.
I did the smooching technique with the inks and a craft mat. When I was happy with the background I moved on to adding my stencil.
Next I stamped the bird on bike with black ink. Then I added some gears to the wheels of the bike. Stamped the Steampunk word from Carmen's Veranda. Then I cut the word in half. Edged the word and 4x4 tile with vintage photo. Glued word and gears on top and done....
 
 

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Bad Advice Baby

Hello and welcome to the Lost Coast Review.  Gail here today and I wanted to share how I made my Bad Advice Baby project that you might have seen over at the Lost Coast Portal to Creativity.  This month the challenge is stenciled backgrounds and this is a great way to add depth and interest to your projects.  

I have decided that Happy Skeleton is a baby due to his romper suit and those obviously baby teeth.  Ain't he just so cool!!


I started by stamping and embossing the Free Advice sentiment from Carmen's Veranda.  I sponged Mowed Lawn distress ink through my stencil, flipped it over and sponged Evergreen Bough distress ink.  Flipping the stencil reverses the pattern, with can give a dramatic effect, depending on how symmetrical your stencil is.  This one, which incidently I found in the cake decorating section of the local cheap store, isn't so complex.  


Then I stamped Grunge Border 3" with Spiced Marmelade distress ink.


A bit more interest added using a numbers stencil and Hickory Smoke distress ink.


I stamped, embossed and fussy cut Happy Skeleton and coloured his romper suit with neon gel pens.  I gave him a bit of washi tape to stand on and a pair of googly eyes, to add that extra bit of crazy, and he's good to go.  

Thanks for dropping by.  Do check out The Lost Coast Portal to Creativity for more gorgeous stencily inspiration from the team and the challenge details and linky.  See you there.  Hugz


Monday, August 7, 2017

Twinkle Twinkle Starry Cat

Good morning and happy Monday. It's Sue here and I'm so happy to be sharing my first piece with you this month for Lost Coast Designs. It's time for a new challenge and this time around it's one of my favourites - stencils. Here's what I've made.




I started by stencilling my stars with some silver texture paste. I then sprayed with some home made shimmer spray to make my universe. I die cut the moon, stars and Earth - wow think big eh!


Then I made a Distress Ink background and stamped Cat Star Wings. She's been coloured with glitter and white pen.


I printed my sentiment on the computer.


And all done.

So please join in and play with your stencils. They don't have to be bought, home made stencils are fine and so much fun.  Thanks very much for looking and don't forget to keep calling back for lots more inspiration. Have a great week, Sue x


Friday, August 4, 2017

Party Time

Hello all you out there. It's Cathy here with a fun card today.
This card I made using items I haven't used for ages( really years) Shhhh don't tell..... First off I stamped Goth Mask on Copic friendly paper. Colored with Copic markers. Layered it on black cardstock. Here is the stuff I haven't used in ages. Versamark and embossing power. I haven't heat embossed in years. I took out my Corner Swirl and stamped it with versamark and used the white embossing power on it. Next I used the versamark as a watermark ink. That is what the darker ones are that you see.
So I say grab something you haven't used in ages and have a go with it again. Thanks for stopping by.

Monday, July 31, 2017

Tales From The Crypt

It's never too soon for some Halloween stamping, and there are some great new stamps from Lost Coast Designs for the Halloween season that will soon be upon us.  

Laurie here again with another new fun stamp from Lost Coast called Goth Shrine ATC.  This stamp also comes in a larger size at 5" tall as opposed to the one I have used here that is 3.5" tall.

I started by stamping my image with Versa-mark ink onto black card stock and embossing it with white embossing powder that I heat set.  I then cut out the image.  I then created a background panel using orange Distress ink.  I then stamped the Grunge Black Swirl stamp with black ink onto my orange background.  I heat embossed the edges of my panel in white embossing powder.  I typed the sentiment and cut out the words, affixing them to the center of my tombstone.  This was then attached to my background using foam tape to give it some dimension.

Great for an eerie and mysterious Halloween card!


Friday, July 28, 2017

Folk Art Christmas Deer

Hello.  Gail here with a fun make using the quirky Reindeer Doll from Carmen's Verandah.  The end of the month is nigh and I wanted an addition to the christmas card stack.  I am slowly adding cards for the silly season, but I am sure once summer is over the glitter will be flying!  This was lovely and easy so maybe it's in contention for THE Christmas Card!!


Isn't that deer just so sweet!!  I stamped and embossed Reindeer Doll, coloured her with distress inks and fussy cut her.  I used Poppystamps Diamond Background die cut from green card and white glitter card and pieced them together.  I borrowed the star from Quilted Winged Angel and attached it with a piece of red thread.  

Thanks for dropping by.  Remember Altered Pages are featuring Lost Coast Stamps all this month so do hop over for masses of inspiration.  

Linda is also offering 10% off at Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda until the end of the month.  Use the code Altered Pages at the checkout.

Joining the fun at

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

She Thinks

Hello.  Gail here with the new and beautiful Steampunk Mermaid.  Absolutely love this stamp and I decided that it would go perfectly with the wonderful Bubbles Background.  



I stamped the Bubbles Background onto green card and embossed with black embossing powder.  I only wanted to used the darker parts of the image so I cut along each of the bubble strips.  Then I glued them down individually on the green card base.

I stamped and fussy cut Steampunk Mermaid and coloured her with distress inks.  I thought the green card looked a little plain so I added glitter.  A few gold and silver pilot marker highlights to the mermaid and done!!  

Thanks for dropping by.  Remember there is still time to link up your ANYTHING GOES projects over at the Lost Coast Portal to Creativity.  The linky closes at midnight.  See you there.  Hugz

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Book Of Wisdom.

Good Morning and welcome to the weekend. It's Sue here with my second visit of the month, and I'm sharing my Book of Wisdom.



I've made my book cover using one of my favourite techniques, which I've sadly neglected for a while.


I started with a plain chippie notebook, and covered a piece of card slightly larger than the book with some sticky aluminium (NOT aluminum - this is just wrong :-)) tape. Then I ran it through an embossing folder and cut to size.


This was then painted with black Deco Art Media acrylic and sanded back.


A coat of quin gold was added to give a rust effect. Once finished I attached it to the book with a strong double sided sticky sheet.


Now my favourite part. I chose my favourite colours of UTEE and made a pretty pattern on my craft mat.


Then heated it up until I had pools of molten loveliness. DO NOT stick your finger into this it will make you say baaaad words!


Make sure that your stamp is inked up and ready to go as the UTEE cools quite quickly.  I stamped my wonderful new Steampunk Heart stamp and pressed down firmly.


Love it! Once it had thoroughly cooled I carefully peeled it off my heat mat and attached it to my book with strong red line tape.


I rusted up some washers for the corners...


and then chose a word from my favourite Miscellaneous Words set.

If you are still with me thank you very much :-)

All of the new stamps can be found here and here.

 





You still have a few hours to comment on the new stamps posts with 10 Lost Coast dollars up for grabs.  The linky for the ANYTHING GOES challenge is open until the 25th.  Just hop over to the Lost Coast Portal to Creativity for details and more inspiration from the team.




Have a fun weekend, and thanks very much for looking x

Friday, July 21, 2017

Happy Cat Throws A Party

Hello.  Gail here.  I am sneaking in with a post to remind you that tomorrow is the last day you can comment on the new stamps posts for a chance to win 10 shiny Lost Coast Design dollars.  There are three posts, so if you comment on them all then that's three chances to win.  Are you still here???   Oh yes, of course!  You are waiting to see Happy Cat's latest endeavor.  Well, it's party time at Happy Cat's place and he has been decorating again.  


Party in the yellow room!  I embossed Lost Coast Bubbles Background with orange embossing powder on yellow card.  I stamped Lost Coast's Happy Cat on white card, embossed with black powder and fussy cut him.  I made a celebration banner using red thread and a sizzix die cut from the Crazy Cats set.  Happy Cat loves that, and the fish were quite tasty as well.  I embossed the Happy Birthday die cut words with 5 colours of embossing powder.  Purrrrrrrr.  

Thanks for dropping in.  Don't forget to hop over to The Lost Coast Portal to Creativity and comment on those new stamps posts.  And the current challenge is ANYTHING GOES and the linky is open until the 25th.  Hope to see you there.  Hugz


Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Heart In Chains

Hello again to all of you visiting the Lost Coasters Review.  This is Laurie giving you the skinny on this card I made featuring one of the new stamps from Lost Coast Designs - this one is called Steampunk Heart.
I love the steampunk genre and love this little heart with all it's gears and chains.

I stamped the heart onto a piece of paper I had painted with cream and orange paints kind of subtly swirled together.  I used black ink which I heat set to dry completely. I then colored in the elements on the heart with Copic markers in shades of brown, black, rust, and I used a gold Uni-ball pen to make the gold accents.

I mounted the heart with foam tape onto a background I made using with Distress inks covering white paper.  I used several stencils to add more Distress ink - one lattice work stencil and another clockwork stencil - in darker shades of brown and rust.  I then stenciled three hearts with gold ink and smudged more gold ink randomly onto the page.  It's hard to see in my photo but the foam tape raises the heart above the background and give the whole thing some dimension.  Finished product was then mounted onto a white panel.


Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Paintbrush Poe

Hello all in blog land. It is Cathy here with my paintbrush Poe.
This is how I made it.
First get a cheap paintbrush( I got my from Michael's)
I painted the handle and the bristles with white paint. Then I painted the frame white.

Next I added black paint to the frame when it was still wet so it turned gray in spots.
Then I added black to my paint bristles. Then I rubbed some black paint in spots on the frame. Next I took some purple paint and added it to the bristles. When That was drying I took some gold and rubbed it oh so lightly over the frame to add a hint of gold to it. Then I added it to the bristles. I did add paint to the front and back of the brush and bristles.
So while that was all drying I stamped out my Goth Poe from the new stamps at Lost Coast. Colored it with Copic markers. When the frame was dry I traced the inside oval so I could cut out and add it to the frame.
The last thing I did was glue it all together. It was a fun altered paintbrush to do.
 Thanks for looking. Enjoy.

Thursday, July 13, 2017

New Collar

Hi it's Cathy here and I have a fast and fun card make.
First I started with a Kraft color cardstock and I embossed it with a embossing folder. I had one with crazy lines over it. It reminded me of how a cat would chase a toy.
Next I stamped the Happy Cat  on Copic friendly paper and colored her in cool grays.
 ( I had a cat the same color when I was a kid)
Then I fussy cut her out. As I was looking at her and seeing that smile on her I thought she needed a collar. So I made her a collar.
 
This is how I made the collar. Took some velvet ribbon and ran a strip of tape down the back side and the I folded it over. Next I added a bright shinny gold bell. Glued the collar on the cat and the stuck foam squares to rise the cat up. Then I saw I had a fish bone die and added that to the card
Last  I edged the card with some brown ink.
Told you it was fast and fun.

Monday, July 10, 2017

Hop Along

Greetings Lost Coast fans.  Gail here with a few more details of my Hop Along tag featuring the gorgeous Whimsical Flora


I've also used the Bubbles Background, but I wanted to try and use it in a slightly different way


Here are the three steps for my tag background.  I stamped the Bubbles Background at an angle off the edge of the tag using Midnight Blue dye ink.    I masked the stamped area and stamped again at a different angle.  I decided it was a bit dark so for the final masking and stamping I didn't re-ink the stamp.  Ye olde second generation stamping.  This obviously gives a lighter impression, which can be fun and useful at times.  Then it all became totally irrelevant, cos in the end I decided this was too dark for the image and re-stamped the whole thing with pale turquoise ink!  Ho Ho Ho


I stamped the wonderful Flora on a scrap of MME patterned paper.  I decided to adjust the angle of her legs and then, since she was then in the hopscotch position, I decided she needed a boot!!   It all made perfect sense at the time!!   I don't seem to have many boot stamps so I drew a boot shape on a piece on red metal foil with an embossing pen and embossed with black powder.  It was a bit bright so I added some black embossed dots.  I want a pair of boots like this!!!


So here she is on the slightly paler version of my tag.  I've edged and grounded her with the Midnight Blue ink and added a bit of bobbly wool.  

Thanks for dropping by.  Our ANYTHING GOES challenge is in full swing on the Lost Coast Portal to Creativity.  Do hop over and see all the wonderful entries and inspiration from the team.  And don't forget to link up your makes.

Altered Pages are having a Lost Coast Designs promotion this month so you can also visit them for masses of fun inspiration using Lost Coast Design stamps and also some special offers.  In support of this fun event Lost Coast Designs are also offering our blog readers a very special 10% discount.  Use the code Altered Pages when you check out to receive your discount.  Have a lovely day.  Hugz

Friday, July 7, 2017

Lost Coast Designs and Altered Pages

Good morning everyone.  This month, Altered Pages has partnered with Lost Coast Designs to bring you some wonderful designs from their talented designers, all created with Lost Coast Stamps.

For the month of July, when you make a purchase at Lost Coast Designs, enter Altered Pages as your discount code when you check out to receive 10% off your purchase.

Take a few minutes through out the month to visit Altered Pages and leave them some love.

Marilyn

Find Your Happy Place

Good afternoon and happy Friday. It's Sue here with a few more details and pictures of how I made my happy tag.


I started by painted a large wooden tag with Deco Art Media acrylics in red and yellow.

Then added some greens and purples. I'm really liking how it looks now.

Well we can't have that! time to cover it all up. I put some vaseline in random patches, then painted with white acrylic and stamped all over with the script stamp from Leonardo's Accessory Set.

When this was dry I rubbed the tag with a damp cloth to remove the patches of vaseline and anything that went over the top. This is my favourite part 'cos it's always so unpredictable.

Then I went over again with a coat of transparent yellow oxide to age it a little more.
Time for some more stamping now.
I've used Rustic CheckerboardLeonardo's AccessoriesDoodle Dolls 1Fish and Hearts Set, and CV Happy Place

There's still loads of time for you to join in, and what could be easier than 'anything goes'. I hope to see you over on the Portal.

Have a fun weekend, and thanks very much for looking x